Writing101, Day10: My Joy Meal

Hey everyone, 🙂  Here is day10 submission based on the following prompt:

“Tell us about your favorite childhood meal — the one that was always a treat, that meant “celebration,” or that comforted you and has deep roots in your memory.”

I always looked  forward to Sunday, the last/first (geee… 😛 ) day of the week. It used to be a special day for Papa too, because he got the chance to dominate the kitchen only once a week. Our kitchen would get transformed into a research lab and nobody even dared to interrupt the procedures taking place inside. My father would turn into a cuisine scientist, brewing potions and mixing spices and we would wait at the dining table for something extraordinary. After about a few hours of intricate cooking, the course would be served and we were given a task of enumerating the ingredients on our fingers. We were supposed to identify its unique flavour and itemize the source. Sometimes it would be easy flavours like honey or garlic , other times strange things like orange juice or grated mint leaves. Every sunday was special…it was exclusive. The whole arrangement of the day and the preparation of the meal was more special to me than the meal itself. My memory glass is etched with happy memories of multiple Sundays spread over my childhood and early adulthood. I have been living out of home for eight years now, and I miss ‘my joy meals’ terribly. It served like an escape button from the hullabaloo of school homework for us and work stress for our parents. It brings a smile to my face everytime i remember it and will remain in my memory for as long as i live.

Your opinion is valuable to me. Feel free to leave a comment in the box below.

Yours truly..creativnerd

Heyy!!What do you think of it??

